Robyn Bjork

Robyn Bjork, PT, CWS, CLT-LANA, CLWT is the Founder and CEO of the International Lymphedema & Wound Training Institute (ILWTI) and President and co-founder of ILWTI Medical Missions. She is a Physical Therapist who is an expert in the field of wound care and lymphedema management and is passionate about training and mentoring others. Bjork teaches nationally and internationally on topics related to wound care, edema and lymphedema management. She has over 15 years of geriatric, wound care, edema and lymphedema experience in outpatient, inpatient, transitional, long term, home care and private practice settings.

Bjork graduated with highest honors and a Masters Degree in Physical Therapy from the College of Saint Scholastica, in 1994. She is a Certified Lymphedema & Wound Therapist through the International Lymphedema & Wound Training Institute, a Certified Wound Specialist through the American Board of Wound Management, and a Certified Lymphedema Therapist through the Lymphology Association of North America. Bjork is a proud member of the American Physical Therapy Association, Lymphology Association of North America, Association for the Advancement of Wound Care, World Alliance of Wound and Lymphedema Care, and the American College of Phlebology. She is a featured speaker at national & international conferences, such as the Symposium for Advanced Wound Care, European Wound Management Association, Canadian Association of Wound Care, Wild on Wounds, National Lymphedema Network International Conferences, the Lymphatic Education & Research Network’s Symposium Series, and numerous regional lymphedema and wound conferences.

Bjork is a chapter author on lymphedema in a soon-to-be-released wound care text book, has authored articles in Pathways and Wound Care Advisor, and has written, produced, and implemented over 155 hours of advanced, accredited curriculum for certifying wound and lymphedema specialists in the USA and abroad. She developed and implemented the only dual wound and lymphedema certification program in the USA and South Africa, the "Certified Lymphedema & Wound Therapist" training course, and has successfully integrated the curriculum into the transitional Doctorate of Physical Therapy program at Nova Southeastern University. In 2006, Bjork founded a Physical Therapy based Wound and Lymphedema Clinic in her hometown, Hayward, WI. "I was amazed at the number of people who came to seek treatment for wounds they had for years, and people suffering from lymphedema who never knew there was any treatment for it," she recalls. Today, she continues to passionately lead clinical practice in the USA to elevate the care of people with lymphedema, homeland missions, and the integration of modern imaging technologies to transform our approach to rehab based lymphedema treatment.

In the late 90’s, Bjork learned about a debilitating form of lymphedema, called Podoconiosis, from a missionary doctor who founded a Christian hospital in the Wolaita Zone of Ethiopia. Acting on a calling to help eradicate Podoconiosis from the Wolaita Zone, Bjork pioneered successful missions into the African bush to implement wound care and lymphedema treatment, using international standards of practice and indigenous resources. These programs proved sustainable and effective for the treatment of up to 60,000 patients in the Wolaita Zone served by the Mossy Foot Project.

Bjork has served on the World Alliance of Wound and Lymphedema Care (WAWLC) Program Development working group and is past Secretariat of WAWLC. She is an international expert in the morbidity management of Podoconiosis and Lymphatic Filariasis. She is former Director of Education and Clinical Development for the Lymphatic Filariasis Clinic project in Leogane, Haiti, and is a chapter author on Podoconiosis for a World Health Organization’s publication on global wound and lymphedema management. In 2011, Bjork received the Central Florida Humanitarian Award and was featured in the commemorative edition of Space Coast Medicine magazine. She also received a certificate of Special Congressional Recognition in appreciation of excellence in medicine.

Other Instructors